Board elections at the European Centre for Workers' Questions (EZA) – Luc Van den Brande new EZA president

Change at the top: At their General Assembly in Bucharest on 24 November 2018, delegates from the European Centre  for Workers' Affairs voted unanimously to elect the former Belgian Minister for Employment and Labour and former Prime Minister of Flanders, Luc Van den Brande, as the new head of the EZA , Luc Van den Brande, who also led the Committee of the Regions and the EPP / CD Group of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, succeeds Bartho  Pronk, who chaired EZA for seven years as Chairman and retired for personal reasons. Bartho Pronk was named honorary president for his services to EZA.

Also confirmed unanimously in their offices were Co-President Piergiorgio Sciacqua (Italy) and Treasurer Norbert Schnedl (Austria). In addition, seven vice-presidents, six assessors and three auditors were elected.

EZA Secretary General Sigrid Schraml was also re-elected by the new Board of Directors for a further four years. The Board of Directors co-opted Prof. Dr. Franjo Topic (Croatia) to the panel.

The composition of the new Board of Directors in detail:

Honorary President: Leo Pauwels, Belgium; Bartho Pronk, Netherlands

President: Luc Van den Brande, Belgium

Co-President: Piergiorgio Sciacqua, Italy

Treasurer: Dr. Norbert Schnedl, Austria

Secretary-General: Sigrid Schraml, Germany

Vice Presidents: Bogdan Hossu, Romania, Maria Reina Martin, Portugal: Herbert Metzger, Germany, Veselin Mitov, Bulgaria, Józef Mozolewski, Poland, Janina Švedienė, Lithuania, Joseph Thouvenel, France

Further Members: Joao Paulo Branco, Portugal, David Cervera Olivares, Spain; Paolo Cesana, Italy, Panagiotis Gkolfis, Greece, Bjorn van Heusden, Netherlands; Fritz Neugebauer, Österreich; Carien Neven, Belgium; Prof. Dr. Franjo Topic, Croatia

Auditors: Bert van Caelenberg, Belgium, Alfonso Luzzi, Italy, Heidi Rabensteiner, Italy

EZA Educational Programme 2019

The new EZA President: Luc Van den Brande

Campaign "Healthy Workplaces: Manage dangerous substances"